Retrieval booked

Cycle 3 update
So I had my day 11 ultrasound and blood tests to check growth of my busy follicles. I had a 30mm unusable one and at 25mm, one at 18mm, one at 16mm and one at 14mm.
I’ve triggered and am booked in for retrieval on Thursday, day 14. They also told me that my progesterone levels were too high for a fresh transfer so they would have to do a freeze all cycle. Was not expecting that! I dont know a whole lot about freezing but I believe they want embryos to grow to day 5 or maybe I’m thinking of pgs testing? I’m of course going to google it 😩
If I have to grow them to day 5 I’m a bit concerned as in my first cycle the embryos only grew to day 4 and I was hoping to transfer at day 3. Whilst I know that chances of pregnancy are higher with a 5 day transfer , I was then banking on one and likely could be this cycle too. Bloody hell! Positive thinking right? So friggin hard when you look at the numbers. Let’s say they retrieve the four eggs, with a 60% fertilisation rate lets predict 2 follicles start developing. So I’ve got at best probably 2 in the running to try to make it to day 5 🙏🙏
I can only hope and remember to breath and remember that anything can happen as it does with this damn process.

6 thoughts on “Retrieval booked

  1. I know it is practically impossible not to, but try not to overthink it. Just get through each step. You have no control over these outcomes. What you think will happen may not and vice versa. Focus on being kind to yourself and breathe! Wishing you all the best for your retrieval.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck! I just got home from my retrieval. It was emotional, but so satisfying to finally be finished another step. These next 5 days are going to be hard.. but its out of our hands so try and keep busy and do things for you that you enjoy. Wishing you all the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

