The big 2nd opinion

Today is the day. Today we are getting a 2nd opinion on our reproductive capabilities and I’m terrified!

Having already been blessed with my precious 4 year old daughter, conceived naturally, we have been trying to give her a sibling for the past 2 years now. Ive recently turned the big 40 and despite our attempts at having a second baby nothing is happening. The possibility of not being able to have another is plaguing my every thought of late.

Being so reliant on modern medicine, when mother nature so easily took care of things first time round has been a huge slap in the face and a wake up call for me. Also the fact that I’m not as invincible as I led myself to believe had shook me to the very core.

Throughout this process I am powerless. I have no control what so ever on how my body will respond to treatment and there’s not a hell of a lot I can do to change the outcome. It feels as though all the years of exercising, eating well and looking after myself have fallen on deaf ears when it comes to the fertility gods.

This blog will be my dumping ground. A safe place for me to purge all the emotions that are sure to surface whilst we go through this labyrinth that is IVF. I have been following many blogs lately and thought it was time to start my own. I have found myself drawn to everyone’s stories of infertility and beyond. So many inspiring, resilient women out there doing the best they can with what they’ve got.

I can’t promise any readers inspiration here. I know the odds are stacked against us and already the weight of it feels heavy to bear and difficult to keep a positive mindset. I will however endeavour to share this journey as honestly as I can in the hope that anyone else struggling on the same path knows that they are not alone. Never alone xx

2 thoughts on “The big 2nd opinion

Leave a Reply

